top of page

New U.S. Dietary Guidelines

The U.S. Department of Agriculture and the Department of Health and Human Services have issued updated nutritional guidelines.  These guidelines are updated every 5 years and aim to reflect the latest science-based evidence about what we eat.

Major changes from previous guidelines include:

  1. Added sugars should make up less than 10% of your diet. This does not include naturally-occurring sugars such as those found in milk or fruit.

  2. Saturated fats should account for less than 10% of your diet. Saturated fats include butter, whole milk, non-lean meats.

  3. Adults should consume less than 2300 mg of sodium (salt) per day.

  4. No specific restrictions on total fat intake, just limit saturated fats.

The sugar and fat intake recommendations are highlighted in an effort to curb the rising incidence of diabetes and cardiovascular disease.  The best bet for healthy eating continues to follow the same pattern which includes incorporating a variety of vegetables, fruits, whole grains, fat-free or low-fat dairy, and lean proteins.

Access the full updated guidelines by visiting

bottom of page